Skip to main content

Thought for the Day: When It Is Permitted to Nullify a Forbidden Substance

I once had a boss who loved to poke fun at any religion.  He stopped trying with me after a few attempts, though, for a couple of reasons.  The first was because every time he tried to point out a logical inconsistency with my belief system, I was always able to show him the issue was his lack of knowledge and not my beliefs.  The turning point was when he thought we could not even a molecule of pork; he was very disappointed when I explained the concept of bitul to him.  The second was that he was an avid bird watcher and would sometimes show me pictures of some of the more exotic birds he had seen.  One had two, single, long feather straight back from its tail.  "Isn't that amazing?", he exclaimed.  "Yes!", I rejoined, "What's the evolutionary advantage it gets from extra weight and drag on his body that will make flight more difficult and therefore make him an easier target for predators?"  He didn't like me very much.

Usually, bitul is a b'di'avad affair.  We have a rule (Shulchan Aruch Y.D. 99:5) of "ein m'vatlin issur l'chatchila"/one is not permitted to nullify a forbidden substance.  That is, one is not permitted to add issur even though it's taste will not be noticeable (even to an expert).  For example, some preservatives and settling agents are not kosher; a company seeking kosher certification would need to find kosher alternatives.  Moreover, one is likewise not allowed to add heter to a mixture into which issur fell in order to nullify it.  For example, if one ounce of milk fell into 30 ounces of beef stew, one would not be allowed to add another 30 ounces of stew to nullify it.  (I chose beef stew and not chicken soup because the M'chaber permits one to nullify an issur d'rabanan.  It's and interesting question if an Ashkenazi Jew is permitted to ask his S'fardi friend to fix up his chicken soup.)

There is, however, one case where one is, in fact, permitted to nullify issur: when the process that nullifies the issur is not being done to nullify it.  Huh?  The classic example is honey.  Raw honey i always teeming with bee parts.  Not whole bees, just parts; apparently the honey collection process is brutal enough to dismember any bee that tries to go down with her hive.  Apparently, honey is not uniformly sweet, so honey needs to be cooked.  That is, the cooking is done as part of the normal processing of the honey.  A side benefit of cooking the honey is that the bee parts dissolve and one is left with much less that one part in 60 -- Ta Da!  bees are nullified and honey is kosher.

This can come up at home, also.  Frozen raspberries have bugs (not might have bugs, they have bugs).  If you grind up the raspberries in a blender, you would smash those bugs to smithereens; again nullifying them.  You are not allowed to blend the raspberries just to smash up the bugs; so this won't get you raspberry soup.  However, a fruit smoothy is made by blending the fruit (and, presumably, other ingredients) to a delectable much; hence the term "smoothy".  In that case, you can even make your smoothy with raspberries.

You don't want to question having smashed up bug bits in your food... trust me, just look away.  Unless you are really interested, then look here, in the FDA's Defect Levels Handbook.  There you can find legal levels of all sorts of unappetizing things in your food.  I told you not to look.


Popular posts from this blog

Thought for the Day: Battling the Evil Inclination on all Fronts

Yom Kippur.  When I was growing up, there were three annual events that marked the Jewish calendar: eating matzos on Passover, lighting candles on Chanuka, and  fasting on Yom Kippur.  Major news organizations around the world report on the "surreal" and "eerie" quiet of the streets in even the most secular neighborhoods of Israel.  Yom Kippur.

As you know, I am observant of Jewish law.  Some have even called me "ultra orthodox" (not in a kind way).  Given that, I have a question.  How likely do you think that I would be tempted to eat on Yom Kippur, that most holy day of the year?  Let's make the scale zero to ten, where zero is "as likely as driving through McDonald's on Shabbos and ordering a Big Mac with extra cheese." and ten is "as likely as breathing regularly".  Take your time.  If you answered "zero"; thank you, but -- sadly and penitently -- no.  The answer is more like nine; I'd like to say lower, but i…

Thought for the Day: Sometimes a Food Loses Its Identity When It Loses Its Bracha; Sometimes It Doesn't

Let's start with a question: Why are We Allowed to Drink Coffee and Whiskey Made by Non-Jews?  Before you ask,"Why would I think that I shouldn't be able to drink whiskey and coffee made by non-Jews?", I'll tell you. Simple, we all know that Chazal made a decree -- known as בישול עכו''ם/bishul akim -- that particular foods cooked by non-Jews are forbidden.  There are basically two criteria that determines if a dish falls into this category:
Is not consumed raw.Fit for a royal banquet. Cooked carrots, therefore, are not a problem since they can be eaten raw (I actually prefer them that way).  Baked beans are find because the are not prestigious enough.  (For great synopsis of the laws, see the article on the Star-K site, FOOD FIT FOR A KING, by Rabbi Moshe Heinemann, shlita.)  There are lots of cool questions and details (baked potatoes are prestigious, does that make even potato chips and issue?) which are for another time.  Clearly, though, both coffee an…

Thought for the Day: Coming Into This World for Torah, Avodah, and Acts of Loving Kindness

This TftD is so self-serving that I should be embarrassed.  But I am not... talking about grandchildren is always off budget.  I have, bli ayin hara, a beautiful new grandson; born at 6:11 PM CDT last Friday night.  The secular (aka -- by me, anyway -- slave) date is October 20, 2017 CE.  The Hebrew (aka Real) date is certainly Rosh Chodesh חשון/Cheshvan and certainly in the year 5778 since Creation.  The date, you ask... good question!

Sundown on Friday night was 6:01 PM CDT, which means he was born either at the end of the last day of תשרי or the beginning of the first day of Cheshvan; a period know as בין השמשות/twilight.  What's the big deal, you ask... I am so glad you asked.  We all deal quite handily with בין השמשות every week and every holiday; we're just stringent.  We start Shabbos and the first day of Yom Tov before בין השמשות; that is, before sundown.  Likewise, we end Shabbos and the first day of Yom Tov after בין השמשות; some 42, 50, 60, or 72 minutes after sundo…