Skip to main content

Thought for the Day: Kashering Vessels from Absorption of Kosher (or Not) Food

Besides the normal issues that need to be addressed when getting coffee from a coffee shop, here's one you don't have: their keilim don't require t'vila.  What about when having coffee with non-frum Jews in their house?  Let's say they bought coffee cake from the kosher bakery and also are providing paper/plastic plates and forks.  One issue remains: they usually aren't going to buy a bucket o' coffee; they'll just make it.  After all, what could be wrong with a coffee maker that never has anything in it but kosher coffee?  Of course, we know the problem: they didn't tovel that carafe (probably didn't even know there is such a thing).  So how do you drink coffee there?

There's a simple (and fundamental) answer: A Jew is required to tovel his keilim and it is forbidden for him to use them until they have been properly immersed in a kosher mikvah.  (Not even once!)  None the less, if they made food in those keilim -- even though they were not allowed to do so -- the food itself is as kosher as it ever was.  There is not even a rabbinic injunction against using such food.  Hold that thought.

There are two basic ways to kasher vessels: הגעלה/boiling the heck out of it and ליבון/burning it out.  The general rule is: however it went it, that's how it comes out.  There is an interesting exception.  If you are kashering a vessel from something permitted, then it only needs הגעלה, even though it was done on a flame.  Why would you need to kasher something that absorbed kosher food?  Two cases come to mind (because R' Dovid Cohen of the CRC mentioned them), both involving a frying pan:

  • You used your pareve pan (ok, ok, your husband used your pareve pan) for a cheese omelette or a eggs with salami.
  • You cooked (yes... of course I mean your husband cooked) a cheese omelette in a fleishig pan that hadn't been used for more than 24 hours.  Since it has been more than 24 hours, the absorbed meat is נותן טעם לפגם/gives a bad taste, so there is no issur of cooking meat with milk.
    • Note: You are not allowed to do this לכתחילה because Chazal were afraid you'd make a mistake and use that pan less than 24 hours since the meat was cooked.  However, even if you did cook in that pan לכתחילה, there is still nothing wrong with the food.  Hold that thought also.
In both cases, you can kasher the pan with הגעלה; saving both the pan and your shalom bayis.

Now here's an interesting case for the kosher supervision agencies.  Suppose you have a facility in America makes both dairy and pareve foods in the same vessel.  They use regular milk (that is, not חלב ישראל), which the agency dutifully certifies as "Kosher - Dairy".  Now they want to kasher the keilim for the pareve run.  Hang on, though.  True enough, many people rely on R' Moshe that regular milk in America is in the category of חלב ישראל, so for them we need to kasher only with הגעלה.  Others rely on R' Moshe, but still want חלב ישראל as a stringency; for them the absorbed milk is also permissible and so the keilim only require הגעלה.  However, there are those who do not rely on that and they hold that regular milk in America is really, really forbidden.  According to them, ליבון is required to kasher the vessel; so if only הגעלה is performed, the vessel is still michig.  How can the agency certify the product as pareve without doing ליבון?

So this brilliant: just wait 24 hours between runs.  According to the kosher agency, who holds that regular milk in America is חלב ישראל, the keilim can be 100% kashered with just הגעלה.  According to those who hold that regular milk in America is forbidden, once it has been more than 24 hours, then that absorbed (forbidden) milk is נותן טעם לפגם!  There is nothing wrong with eating the food cooked in there and it is certainly 100% pareve.

Your only problem would be if you are a vegan; which itself is a problem.


Popular posts from this blog

Thought for the Day: Battling the Evil Inclination on all Fronts

Yom Kippur.  When I was growing up, there were three annual events that marked the Jewish calendar: eating matzos on Passover, lighting candles on Chanuka, and  fasting on Yom Kippur.  Major news organizations around the world report on the "surreal" and "eerie" quiet of the streets in even the most secular neighborhoods of Israel.  Yom Kippur.

As you know, I am observant of Jewish law.  Some have even called me "ultra orthodox" (not in a kind way).  Given that, I have a question.  How likely do you think that I would be tempted to eat on Yom Kippur, that most holy day of the year?  Let's make the scale zero to ten, where zero is "as likely as driving through McDonald's on Shabbos and ordering a Big Mac with extra cheese." and ten is "as likely as breathing regularly".  Take your time.  If you answered "zero"; thank you, but -- sadly and penitently -- no.  The answer is more like nine; I'd like to say lower, but i…

Thought for the Day: Sometimes a Food Loses Its Identity When It Loses Its Bracha; Sometimes It Doesn't

Let's start with a question: Why are We Allowed to Drink Coffee and Whiskey Made by Non-Jews?  Before you ask,"Why would I think that I shouldn't be able to drink whiskey and coffee made by non-Jews?", I'll tell you. Simple, we all know that Chazal made a decree -- known as בישול עכו''ם/bishul akim -- that particular foods cooked by non-Jews are forbidden.  There are basically two criteria that determines if a dish falls into this category:
Is not consumed raw.Fit for a royal banquet. Cooked carrots, therefore, are not a problem since they can be eaten raw (I actually prefer them that way).  Baked beans are find because the are not prestigious enough.  (For great synopsis of the laws, see the article on the Star-K site, FOOD FIT FOR A KING, by Rabbi Moshe Heinemann, shlita.)  There are lots of cool questions and details (baked potatoes are prestigious, does that make even potato chips and issue?) which are for another time.  Clearly, though, both coffee an…

Thought for the Day: Coming Into This World for Torah, Avodah, and Acts of Loving Kindness

This TftD is so self-serving that I should be embarrassed.  But I am not... talking about grandchildren is always off budget.  I have, bli ayin hara, a beautiful new grandson; born at 6:11 PM CDT last Friday night.  The secular (aka -- by me, anyway -- slave) date is October 20, 2017 CE.  The Hebrew (aka Real) date is certainly Rosh Chodesh חשון/Cheshvan and certainly in the year 5778 since Creation.  The date, you ask... good question!

Sundown on Friday night was 6:01 PM CDT, which means he was born either at the end of the last day of תשרי or the beginning of the first day of Cheshvan; a period know as בין השמשות/twilight.  What's the big deal, you ask... I am so glad you asked.  We all deal quite handily with בין השמשות every week and every holiday; we're just stringent.  We start Shabbos and the first day of Yom Tov before בין השמשות; that is, before sundown.  Likewise, we end Shabbos and the first day of Yom Tov after בין השמשות; some 42, 50, 60, or 72 minutes after sundo…