Skip to main content

Thought for the Day: חלב ישראל and Camel Milk

Here's a fact that probably doesn't interest you at all:
Aside from cattle, many kinds of livestock provide milk used by humans for dairy products. These animals include buffalo, goat, sheep, camel, donkey, horse, reindeer, and yak. The first four respectively produced about 11%, 2%, 1.4% and 0.2% of all milk worldwide in 2011. (From Wikipedia... so you know it's true!)
Notice that most of those animals are kosher, so their milk is also kosher.  The only non-kosher animal that even made it into the top four is camel at 1.4%.

Why might that be an interesting factoid for you to file away?  The gemara wonders (Avoda Zara 35b) why Chazal instituted the decree of חלב ישראל.  After all, explains the gemara, milk from a kosher animal is white and can be made into cheese, whereas milk from a non-kosher animal is creamy/yellow and cannot be processed into cheese.  That being the case, we could easily detect if milk from non-kosher sources was added, so why do we need a special decree?  Now here's the deal... camel milk is white as snow (or at least as cow's milk) and you can actually make cheese from it.  Check it out.  Now what?

Before we talk about how to understand that this gemara in light of those facts, though, we need to ask a different question: Yeah!  Why did Chazal make a special decree for חלב ישראל?  If non-kosher ingredients were added, then of course it isn't kosher and if I don't have adequate supervision then of course I can't eat it!  After all, that is my answer to anyone who asks why I don't eat vegetarian or fish meals in non-kosher restaurants?

The answer to that question is that we don't really expect the goyim to add milk from non-kosher animals.  But it's one of those things that you don't really expect to have to worry about.  There is another food like that: דמאי (yes, Wikipedia has a Hebrew presence also).  These are cases where the Chazal saw a certain laxity in observance to which they wanted to encourage more care.

Given that, the gemara is not at all questioning what the purpose of the decree, the gemara is wondering where there is room for laxness.  After all, you can see the color and you can't make cheese out of it.  Regardless of the answer (see there), we still need to deal with the apparent contradiction of the gemara's statements to the reality we see with our own eyes.

The cheese issue is easiest.  The gemara is not telling you a הלכה למשה מסיני, it's telling you an observation.  In those days they didn't have the wherewithal to make cheese from camel.  Or can also say (as some rishonim do) that the gemara meant you can't make hard cheese; which is also true by observation.

The color issue is a bit trickier, but along the same lines.  The gemara is telling you an observation made in Babylonia that milk from kosher animals is white and from non-kosher animals is yellow/creamy.  In fact, the milk from a yak -- also a kosher animal and also not available in Babylonia -- is also yellow/creamy.  What about camels, though?  They certainly had camels and milk from a camel is certainly white.  To answer this requires some speculation, but its a very reasonable speculation (the kind where I am tempted to say, "so you have to say", but I never, ever say that).

Why would a goy add milk from a non-kosher animal into cow's milk?  Because he will otherwise have to throw it away.  Nobody drinks horse (mare) milk, nor cat milk, nor dog milk; so if the goy has a mare or a cat or a female dog (no, I am not going to say it), then he might throw that worthless milk into the mix.  However, he is most certainly not going to throw camel milk in there -- because he can sell camel milk!  And camel's milk is a lot more expensive than cow's milk.  If anything, he is more likely to put cow milk into the camel milk.


Popular posts from this blog

Thought for the Day: Battling the Evil Inclination on all Fronts

Yom Kippur.  When I was growing up, there were three annual events that marked the Jewish calendar: eating matzos on Passover, lighting candles on Chanuka, and  fasting on Yom Kippur.  Major news organizations around the world report on the "surreal" and "eerie" quiet of the streets in even the most secular neighborhoods of Israel.  Yom Kippur.

As you know, I am observant of Jewish law.  Some have even called me "ultra orthodox" (not in a kind way).  Given that, I have a question.  How likely do you think that I would be tempted to eat on Yom Kippur, that most holy day of the year?  Let's make the scale zero to ten, where zero is "as likely as driving through McDonald's on Shabbos and ordering a Big Mac with extra cheese." and ten is "as likely as breathing regularly".  Take your time.  If you answered "zero"; thank you, but -- sadly and penitently -- no.  The answer is more like nine; I'd like to say lower, but i…

Thought for the Day: Sometimes a Food Loses Its Identity When It Loses Its Bracha; Sometimes It Doesn't

Let's start with a question: Why are We Allowed to Drink Coffee and Whiskey Made by Non-Jews?  Before you ask,"Why would I think that I shouldn't be able to drink whiskey and coffee made by non-Jews?", I'll tell you. Simple, we all know that Chazal made a decree -- known as בישול עכו''ם/bishul akim -- that particular foods cooked by non-Jews are forbidden.  There are basically two criteria that determines if a dish falls into this category:
Is not consumed raw.Fit for a royal banquet. Cooked carrots, therefore, are not a problem since they can be eaten raw (I actually prefer them that way).  Baked beans are find because the are not prestigious enough.  (For great synopsis of the laws, see the article on the Star-K site, FOOD FIT FOR A KING, by Rabbi Moshe Heinemann, shlita.)  There are lots of cool questions and details (baked potatoes are prestigious, does that make even potato chips and issue?) which are for another time.  Clearly, though, both coffee an…

Thought for the Day: Coming Into This World for Torah, Avodah, and Acts of Loving Kindness

This TftD is so self-serving that I should be embarrassed.  But I am not... talking about grandchildren is always off budget.  I have, bli ayin hara, a beautiful new grandson; born at 6:11 PM CDT last Friday night.  The secular (aka -- by me, anyway -- slave) date is October 20, 2017 CE.  The Hebrew (aka Real) date is certainly Rosh Chodesh חשון/Cheshvan and certainly in the year 5778 since Creation.  The date, you ask... good question!

Sundown on Friday night was 6:01 PM CDT, which means he was born either at the end of the last day of תשרי or the beginning of the first day of Cheshvan; a period know as בין השמשות/twilight.  What's the big deal, you ask... I am so glad you asked.  We all deal quite handily with בין השמשות every week and every holiday; we're just stringent.  We start Shabbos and the first day of Yom Tov before בין השמשות; that is, before sundown.  Likewise, we end Shabbos and the first day of Yom Tov after בין השמשות; some 42, 50, 60, or 72 minutes after sundo…